the hiatus is over

I’ve really had no reason why I haven’t posted in a month, besides for the fact that I’m incredibly lazy. That, and the fact that being on my feet for eight hours a day is a bit draining.

It’s been a pretty interesting experience canvassing for the ACLU. It’s been great being able to talk to people about the issues that affect us the most, and I’ve gotten to meet quite a few interesting characters along the way. I’ve also gotten to see parts of the East Bay I would have otherwise never bothered to visit. The view of the Bay from the Oakland Hills after sunset are really something to behold. I guess one thing that’s bothered me is the general sense of ignorance and apathy I’ve gotten from a majority of the doors I’ve knocked on. The Bay Area is supposed to be one of the most progressive and politically active regions of the nation, and if it’s this bad here, I shudder to think what it must be like in Omaha or El Paso. The most common response I’ve gotten seems to be, “What can I do?” Exercise your rights. VOTE. Write your congressman. This country needs change, and it needs it now. Please, do us all a favor and vote Democrat in ’08.

Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now.

On a totally unrelated note, the South Bay is ridiculously Asian. Sure, I’ve been to my fair share of Asian-dominated towns – Arcadia, Rowland Heights, Flushings, even Richardson – but nothing tops the South Bay.  You’ll be hard-pressed to fins someone of non-Asian descent in the Monta Vista High School yearbook. A quick search on Wikipedia reveals that the student body is 67.4% Asian.

This is an advertisement I saw after getting off the BART in Fremont:

840a0543.jpg

At first, I didn’t really think much of it. Then I realized, it’s an advertisement for McDonald’s in a large public space, and it’s in Chinese.

For those of you who live in the South Bay or East LA, you probably think I’m making a big deal out of nothing. Still, for a kid from suburban Texas (with a pretty sizable Asian population of our own, I might add), this is pretty mindblowing stuff.

Finally, check out this article from Rolling Stone when you have the time. It’s probably the most provocative and interesting article I’ve read in a while.

Leave a comment